BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
cdub
Calcite | Level 5

I have a dataset that contains purchases by customer by store.  Customer #s & Store #s can be listed multiple times as customers make multiple purchases.  Transaction # are all unique. 

Store #      Customer #      Transaction #

1               10                   7171

2               21                   8389

3               40                   5118

3               40                   8971

4               40                   9008

5               88                   6673

Some of the stores are in close proximity to one another & have been grouped in pairs.  I want to know which customers shopped at both stores.  For example - Store # 3 & 4 have been identified as a pair.  In the example above I need to write code that would identify that customer 40 shopped at stores 3 & 4 & my code would need to keep all three observations for customer 40. 

I am a VERY novice SAS user & my approach would be to create a dataset for customers shopping at store 3 & one for customers shopping at store 4 - merge them to determine which customer #s were in both & then take those customer #s & bump them up against the dataset above to get all the transactions for customers that shopped at both stores.  My problem is I have about 20 pairs of stores to check & my dataset has over 6K stores & about 10 million transactions. 

I am wondering if there is a much easier way (just using the dataset above) to tell SAS to pull all transactions for customers that shopped at store # 3 & 4.  In my example above I would be left with 3 obs for customer # 40. 

Thank you for any suggestions. 

9 REPLIES 9
Haikuo
Onyx | Level 15

Question: 1. How does your table that defines store-pairs structured? 2. Please confirm that you only are interested in those customers who shop in both stores of a pairs? If not, please lay out the wanted outcome.

Haikuo

cdub
Calcite | Level 5