Error in connecting to MySQL table

Occasional Contributor

Error in connecting to MySQL table

Hi there,

Without a dedicated administrator, I have been left to my own devices to try to fix an issue I am having when trying to connect to a MySQL database. I have set up the connection through the SAS Management Console, and made it comparable to existing connections that work (however they are for other departments therefore I shouldn't use them).

The issue I have is that when I try to assign my libname I get the error

"ERROR: Error trying to establish connection: Unknown database"

I would have hoped it would create the SQL database if it didn't exist, but that doesn't seem to be the case. My question is, how do I create the database and can I do it through the Management Console (similar to creating a new file, folder or process with a right click?) I don't have access to the server itself, so can't just log on and do what I need to do.

Oh and please excuse my ignorance, I am a programmer/analyst - not an Administrator (but can follow instructions if someone knows how to achieve what I am trying to do!)

Super Contributor

Re: Error in connecting to MySQL table

If the MySQL database does not exist you need to log into MySQL as an administrator and create the database.  Once the database is created you can use SQL passthrough from SAS to create tables and the like.

Richard

Occasional Contributor

Thanks Richard. I figured the guy that originally set it up for me would have done that. But alas, no (his care factor at the moment is non existent). Hopefully I can pry the mysql

information out of him before he leaves at the end of the week.

Super Contributor

The most important thing is to ensure that this guy has responsibly passed on administrator account details and passwords.  Speak to his boss if necessary.  You can always get MySQL doco off the web.

Richard

Super Contributor

@ddeaves