Enterprise Miner Decision Tree Help

Contributor

Enterprise Miner Decision Tree Help

Hi

I am new to enterprise miner but I am finding it very useful for my work.

I am currently building a decision tree and am building them autonomously and by hand to compare. When building by hand I select my first two splits

as I want certain variables to be at the top. I then automatically complete them so I have the maximal tree. I then view the subtree plots and tables which

tells me the optimal size as having 13 leaf nodes.

How do I then view this optimal tree and take it forward? I can run autonomously and choose the option of creating the 13 leafed tree but that's not what I want as this wouldn't have the two variables I selected first to be at the top. I can right click on the diagram in the editor at each decision point and prune but this just deletes everything below it and I have no idea which 13 leaves I'm supposed to keep and I have too may variables to manually build every 13 leafed node. I am using version 12.1 and I could be missing the obvious but I can't seem to figure it out.

Thanks in advance

Stephen

Trusted Advisor

Re: Enterprise Miner Decision Tree Help

There are two ways to build decision trees.

1/ automatic it will build the autonously with no manual interaction.

2/ interactive (choose it by the ellisis at het menu/properies). 

By this you can build it manually and then proceed (make active) at a leaflet to have it build to lower levels.

Do not forget to save before returning as the interactive mode is partially running on your desktop.  (This is an exception in Miner)

---->-- ja karman --<-----
Contributor

Hi

Thanks for the reply. I know how to build the decision trees using both those methods.