ERROR: Physical file does not exist

Accepted Solution Solved
Occasional Contributor
Accepted Solution

ERROR: Physical file does not exist

[ Edited ]

I know this question has been asked a million times, but none of the solutions I found helped me. I am very new to SAS, so please bear with me.

Here is my situation. I have a file located at C:\Users\myaccount\Documents\IO\temp.csv

When I use the "File > Open > Data" menu, I can successfully open that file in SAS. I can then right click on it an choose Import Data and see the data itself. If I right click on the file in the Process Flow box (top left) and choose properties, the path it shows me is, obviously, C:\Users\myaccount\Documents\IO\temp.csv

But, when I run a program as follows, I get the error "Physical file does not exist".

DATA temp;
INFILE 'C:\Users\myaccount\Documents\IO\temp.csv';
INPUT ID AGE;
RUN;

Any help is highly appreicated.

Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎01-04-2016 04:34 PM
Occasional Contributor

Re: ERROR: Physical file does not exist

I solved my problem by putting my files on a shared drive and accessing the shared drive using its URI.

View solution in original post

All Replies
Super User

The answer will be the same. You need to create a shared folder myfolders and map that, then reference it using UNIX paths because of the VM. The GUI probably uses a different method to import but code needs to be different. This is assuming your using SAS UE. If it's SAS EG it's a similar answer except you need to move your data to the server.
Occasional Contributor

Thanks Reeza and sorry for delayed follow up. I am using SAS EG and it is on a Windows machine. I have moved the data to that machine (the path to C:\Users\myaccount\Documents\... is local to that machine) but I cannot get it to work. Please advise.
Super User

Post your log.
Occasional Contributor

1          ;*';*";*/;quit;run;
2          OPTIONS PAGENO=MIN;
3          %LET _CLIENTTASKLABEL='ReadFile';