BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
rmlmrmlm
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello everybody!

I need help, please, as I'm a newbie to SAS.

Imagine this dataset DATASET_ORIGINAL, with the variables:

ID    INCOME1    INCOME2       INCOME3            VAR_INCOME_TO_UPDATE            NEW_INCOME_VALUE

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1          100              200                   150                              INCOME2                                            201

2          400              250                   250                              INCOME1                                              99

3          300              210                   165                              INCOME2                                            188

3          800              320                   155                              INCOME2                                            178

I want to create a new DATASET_COPY, dinamically, by updating, for each ID, the variable whose name is in VAR_INCOME_TO_UPDATE with the NEW_INCOME_VALUE.

The final DATASET_COPY will be:

ID    INCOME1    INCOME2       INCOME3           

------------------------------------------------------------------

1          100              201                   150                

2            99              250                   250                

3          300              188                   165                

3          800              178                   155                

This is legacy ... And I must keep the logic.

Thank you very much!

4 REPLIES 4
ballardw
Super User

Here's one way.

Note the example data in the form of a data step so that code can be tested.

data have;
   input ID    INCOME1    INCOME2       INCOME3            VAR_INCOME_TO_UPDATE $           NEW_INCOME_VALUE ;
datalines;