BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
rgreen33
Pyrite | Level 9

First, let me start by saying that I am new to the SAS world.  So, it is possible that I am overlooking the obvious. 🙂

Essentially, I have a DI Studio job that includes 2 controls:  User Written; Return Code Check.  Everything is working as expected.  On the Return Code Check, I am checking the status of my job, and sending emails on "Error" and "Successful".  I have 2 environments: DEV; PROD.  My jobs are setup and running in both environments.  Thus, when I get the emails, it is hard to determine which environment the email is from.  So, I would like to include the HOSTNAME in the email (I could use Outlook rules to key on this and do things for Errors).  Obviously, I can hardcode the host into the email, which is exactly what I am current doing.  My email for "Error" currently looks something like this:

SASPROD -> Error: &etls_jobName (&jobID); TRANS_RD = &trans_rc

This becomes a problem when I promote a new (or updated) job from DEV to PROD, as I always have to remember to modify the Status Handling on each job...updating the HOSTNAME.  I have attempted to use &HOSTNAME, but that throws an error.  I would like to automatically include the HOSTNAME, server name, or something, that will automatically indicate which environment the message is from.

Any ideas?

Thanks for your time and help,

Ricky

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
4 REPLIES 4
rgreen33
Pyrite | Level 9

@Kurt_Bremser,

THANK YOU!!!  That is exactly what I was looking for.  I tried searching for everything and could not find this.  So, is there a list of these automatic macro variables that you can point me to?  Also, in User Written code, is there a preference as to whether you use these automatic macros variables v.s. global environment variables?

Again, thanks for your help,

Ricky

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

When you issue

%put _all_;