BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Bruce123
Calcite | Level 5

Hello

I am new to the SAS programming world and was hoping someone could help me.

I want to create a new variable in SAS where I ask sas to take the values of variable "performance", but only between a specific time interval, between 31/12//2009 and 31/12/2010 and put this variable in a new column called performance2010. I do not want sas to sum or subract the values of the variable performance. I simply want it to create a new column where only the values of performance from 2010 are in it.

This is my code:

PROC SQL;

CREATE TABLE Performance AS

SELECT*

FROM Return

WHERE Performance = ToDate Where ToDate Between dmy(31, 12, 2009) and dmy(31, 12, 2010) AS Performance2010;

QUIT;

"ToDate" is my date variable and in my data is written by day-months-years

As you can see the second last line is incorrect, but I do not know how to write the last piece of code

Can somehelp me? I would really appreciate it

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
DJM_SAS
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Bruce,

Assuming you're using the second of my two pieces of code, you can generate two extra variables by adding in new case statements like so:

PROC SQL;

CREATE TABLE Your_New_Table AS

SELECT *, 

CASE

WHEN ToDate BETWEEN dmy(31,12,2009) AND dmy(31,12,2010) THEN old_performance_variable

ELSE .

END AS new_performance_variable,

CASE

WHEN ToDate BETWEEN dmy(31,12,2010) AND dmy(31,12,2011) THEN old_performance_variable

ELSE .

END AS new_performance_variable2,

CASE

WHEN ToDate BETWEEN dmy(31,12,2011) AND dmy(31,12,2012) THEN old_performance_variable

ELSE .

END AS new_performance_variable3

FROM your_original_table;

QUIT;

Note: There's no comma after new_performance_variable3, but there is after 1 and 2.