BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
whajjar71
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to the SAS community and appreciate any help you can provide.

I have 9 variables - H1 ... H9.  I need to create new variables with the sums of each possible combination of those original 9.

Does anyone have code to complete that task?  Thanks!

10 REPLIES 10
mkeintz
PROC Star

I take it you want all 2-element sums, 3-elements sums, .... 9-element sum, right?

You could do some nested loops in a data step, but I'd suggest using PROC SUMMARY to generate a data set with all the combinations (from 1-way "combination" to 9-way).  Then read that data set and calculate hsum in a single assignment:

data have;
  id=1;
  array h {9} (1,2,4,8,16,32,64,128,256);
  output;
  id=2;
  do i=1 to 9;  h{i}=2*h{i};end;
  output;
run;

proc summary data=have (keep=id h1-h9 ) completetypes noprint missing chartype ;
  by id;
  class h1-h9  ;
  output out=need / ways;
  ways 1 to 9;
run;

data want;
  set need (drop=_freq_);
  hsum=sum(of h1-h9);
run;

Dataset NEED will have, for each ID, 511 observations (=2**9 - 1) with each possible combination of H values.  It will also have variables _WAY_  (1 for 1-way combo, 2 for 2-way combo, etc), and _TYPE_.  _TYPE_ will be a 9-digit strings of 1's and 0's corresponding to which H vars are present or missing.

In this particular example HSUM will have every integer value from 1 to 511 for ID=1.   For ID=2, hsum will have every even value from 2 to 1022.

--------------------------
The hash OUTPUT method will overwrite a SAS data set, but not append. That can be costly. Consider voting for Add a HASH object method which would append a hash object to an existing SAS data set

Would enabling PROC SORT to simultaneously output multiple datasets be useful? Then vote for
Allow PROC SORT to output multiple datasets

whajjar71
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks for the response.  One clarification .... I need to execute these summations across all 10,000 observations.