BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
anna29
Calcite | Level 5

Hi community,

Im very new to sas so i will really appreciate any help. My problem is that i need to sort out the high-frequency fx data (csv), which includes date, time per second, currency pairs, order type, bid price, ask price, bid volume and ask volume. So far i managed very little, only to sort if by currency pairs. My first issue is that i need to sum up the bid volume (as well as ask vol.) in 5 min interval, but the bid-ask vol are represented by certain letters. So what i need is to count how many A`s, B`etc. i have in each 5 min interval. The second issue is that i need to find the average of bid-ask price at the end of the same 5 min interval (per sec1 , than per sec 300, etc). The rest excel can manage.

Attaching the file.

I will be VERY grateful for any tips or help!!

Regards

Anna

14 REPLIES 14
esjackso
Quartz | Level 8

I think we need some more information before we can help...

What are you summing over? Currency Pairs? Order Type? Everything?

What starts the 5 min intervals? Do these intervals overlap? Are these by currency pairs or order type (or both)?

Clarity on the needs for the average price would help as well.

EJ

umashankersaini
Quartz | Level 8

Hi,

Looking for more information...

as per heading may be COUNTC, COUNTW function can help.... but we need more info...

anna29
Calcite | Level 5

Hi again,

I think i should tell the whole story of what im actually doing, hope it will shed some light.

I posted an example in excel to the original post of what Im trying to do.  The  columns im after are date, time,currency pair, 5 min return and net ask-bid volume. But since the amount data is HUGE I need to sort it out is sas so i can use it in eviews for some modelling.