BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
saieedkhalil
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi Everyone,

I have a very simple data set I am trying to deseasonalize. The data is quarterly. There are two columns in the data set.

Imported from excel, Column 1 is Period, and Column Two is Total Taxes. Those dates repeat all the way to 2016.

103/31/19947823982      
206/30/19949398529      
309/30/19948126101      
412/31/19947962473     

I found this generic Proc X11 code online: 

proc x11 data=dataset;
monthly date=date;/*needs to be in date9. format*/
tables d10 d11 d12 d13;
output out=output_dataset b1=originald10=seasonald11=adjustedd12=trendd13=irreg;
var variable;/*variable is the variable to be analysed*/
run;

But the thing is my dates need to be converted to a date9. format & the code needs to be adjusted for quarterly data, not monthly. I really appreciate any help I can get with this. I am a bit of a noob. 

Thanks,
Saieed. 

5 REPLIES 5
nehalsanghvi
Pyrite | Level 9

I am not familiar with the x11 proc but its documentation indicates you can use the Quarterly statement if your input data are quarterly. You do not have to use the Monthly statement.

http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/etsug/63939/HTML/default/viewer.htm#etsug_x11_sect005.ht...

And looking at the date option on the Quarterly statement, it does not say that the date has to be in a specific format. It only has to contain SAS date values. So as long as your date variable contains SAS dates and it is not a character date variable, you should be fine. See details on Quarterly statement here:

http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/etsug/63939/HTML/default/viewer.htm#etsug_x11_sect015.ht...

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

If your column 1 is of type character, you need to create a SAS date variable from it:

datevar = input(column1,mmddyy10.);
format datevar date9.;

Then use datevar in place of column1.

saieedkhalil
Fluorite | Level 6

Mr. Kurt,