BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Bennettr99
Fluorite | Level 6

I am new to SAS and I using SAS 9.4. I am trying to convert data using data from a different data set. The first data set is called data and contains a variable for the first 3 digits of a zip code plus 14 other variables. The second data is called zip and contains the first three digits of a zipcodes along with the corresponding county and city names. For example:

Data                     Zip

zip_3 (variable name)          zip_3             County         State

005                                    005                Holtsville      NY

005                                    006                Adjuntas      PR

006                                    006                Aquada        PR

I need to find some way to merge the data so that the county and state name are in the same observation as the matching zipcodes and if there are any other counties it could be, it is also in the observation. Example:

Data

zip_3             County         State      County         State

005                 Holtsville      NY

006                 Adjuntas      PR         Aquada        PR   

I've tried merging the data, but I have had no luck. I haven't used SAS much outside of merging data with identical variables, so I am at a loss. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

There are two problems. First you are trying to do a many to many merge.  There can be more than one loan per ZIP3 and there are more than one "lookup" value per ZIP3.  The second problem is you want transpose you many rows of detailed zipcode into a single observation. If you solve the second one first then the first one disappears.

First convert your ZIP dataset to have one observation per ZIP3 value.  For example using PROC TRANSPOSE.

proc transpose data=zip out=zip_name prefix=name ;
  by zip_3 ;