BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Reggiete
Calcite | Level 5

Hello Everyone,

I am new to sas and I am trying to convert a character string which is in ISO8601 to datetime format in sas.

My code looks like this

proc sql;

Select appnum

,input(submitdate,datetime22.9) as Submitdate

from test

;quit;

submitdate is being pulled from an XML data source so its currently in varchar format

Could any help me with converting the submitdate(which is in iso8601) to datetime?  I am new and I only use proc sql; since I have a sql background and still very new to SAS.

10 REPLIES 10
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

Have you tried this link yet?

http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/lrdict/64316/HTML/default/viewer.htm#a003169817.htm

You may want to apply one of these informat from the above link:

DatetimeYYYY-MM-DDThh:mm:ss.nnnnnn2008-09-15T15:53:00E8601DTw.d
Datetime with time zoneYYYY-MM-DDThh:mm:ss.nnnnnn+|-hh:mm2008-09-15T15:53:00+05:00E8601DZw.d
Read date from a datetimeYYYY-MM-DD2008-09-15E8601DNw.
Reggiete
Calcite | Level 5

hey,

I found that page on a google search, but don't quite understand what I would need to do to convert from ISO8601 varchar to datetime22.9 format in SAS.  using the above code.

novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

The idea is to apply informat from the page and the informat should convert iso date to a datetime value of sas. Then you apply a datetime format on the numeric datetime value that you derived by applying the informat

Reeza
Super User

@Reggiete 

Input ( your_variable, <informat - what variable currently looks like>) as new_variable format=<format - what you want variable to look like>

The INFORMAT is likely one from @novinosrin post and the format is DATETIME20. 

The decimal portion of 9 is likely not what you actually want, so I would try datetime20 first. 

Reggiete
Calcite | Level 5

would this be correct I still get an error.

input(date, informat=e8601dzw.d) as Date format=datetime20

novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20