Contingency table

New Contributor

Contingency table

Hello

I am trying to create 5x5 table where I want to assess the men/women differences in responding to a question that has 5 choices, rated 1 to 5 with 5 indicating no problem and 1 indicating worst problem. I understand it should look similar to the one below. The purpose is to assess if women answer differently to this question, where women rate themselves as having more problems compared to male. I have 1 column where I have coded men/women as "1" or "0" and the other column reflecting the responses on the question rated 1 to 5 corresponding to men/women.

I am not able to figure out how I can a) create a table such as the one below using SAS; 2) Do a chi square or Fisher's test on this. 

I am fairly new to SAS to any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Female

1                       2                   3                    4                   5

Male

Occasional Contributor P_2
Occasional Contributor

Re: Contingency table

Hi Pt_Prof,

I'm not sure laying your table out like that makes sense.  try this code:

data temp;

input sex rate;

cards;

1 5

1 2

0 3

1 3

0 1

1 3

1 2

0 2

0 3

0 3

;

proc freq data =temp;

tables sex*rate /chisq nocum nocol norow nopercent ;

run;

New Contributor

Thank you P˄2 for your reply.

I was thinking to lay out table like that (5 x 5 for men x women) to see the proportion of women who may rate their problem to be higher (rate the response as 1 or 2) whereas men rate them as lower problem (rate the response as 4 or 5).

For example, this question has five (R1, R2 etc) responses, and we have have m/f. I need a chi-square statistic but I also want the row x column outcome to see if there is a difference in terms of whether women or men systematically rate as having more problem. Consider there are 50 men and 50 women providing us 100 responses.

Women

R1                           R2                     R3                    R4                        R5

R1

R2