BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Jmitch
Calcite | Level 5

Hello All, I have a macro I have written to execute a Proc SQL statement on a number of variables. I am fairly new to the macro facility and is likely the cause of the issue I am seeing. In this example there a 9 data sets in the library. There are also variables created from a different macro called ds1, ds2, ds3, ds4, ds5, ds6, ds7, ds8 and ds9 which contain the actual data set name. The macro was written as I the number of data sets in the library can change from one run to the next with completely different data sets. However, as it is currently written, I get the following 2 SAS errors for each of the 9 data sets:

ERROR 22-322: Expecting a name.

ERROR 200-322: The symbol is not recognized and will be ignored.

I know there are other ways in which to get record counts, but note this is just an example to ensure I can process the data sets as the true resulting operations will be a bit more complex (No need to suggest easier methods to get record counts). Any assistance on how I can reference the macro variable associated with the string 'ds' and the iteration variable i to reference the resolved macro variable names ds1 if on iteration 1, ds2 if on iteration 2, etc. I have bolded the lines of code to which my question pertains to. Oh we are on version 7.100.2.3 if that makes a difference.

The macro code is written as:

%macro GetRecordCounts(lib, worklib=work);
data &worklib..DataSetNames; set &worklib..DataSetNames end=end; rownum=_n_; call symputx('ds'||trim(put(rownum,5. -L)),trim(memname)); run;
proc sql; select max(rownum) Into :dscount From &worklib..DataSetNames; quit;
%do i = 1 %to &dscount;
proc sql; Select '&&dsn' as DataSetName, Count(*) As RecordSetCount From &lib..&'ds'||&i.; Quit;
%end; %mend;
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User