Comparing like strings

Super Contributor

Comparing like strings

Hello everyone. I have a database that has strings of comments. In this database, many of the comments are actually supposed to be the same comment.

Example:

The client missed an application of order 17.

Client Missed application order 17.

Client's missed app order #17.

All of the above comments means the same thing.

I know I can strip punctuation and use the compbl function to evaluate to single spaces, but does anyone know of a technique or function in Base sas that will attempt to realize that all of these strings are the same thing?

I'm thinking some kind of ranking system that says "comment A is 80% related to comment B", etc...  I have never done this type of text mining before so I honestly don't know where to start!

If this is not a task that I should be trying in SAS please let me know! (I've heard that R can do this type of thing well, however from my VERY limited experience using R was not extremely helpful).

Thanks for your time.

Brandon

Super User

Re: Comparing like strings

SAS has a Text Analytics component in E-Miner that might be worth trying.

If you don't have that, consider functions such as compged, complev as starting points.

Valued Guide

have a look at the "spelling distance" function SPEDIS()

and test the results!

I found values under 10 were very close and results above 20 were "unreliable",

but your data will produce different results

Super Contributor

Thank you for the suggestions. I will look into these functions some more. I have a feeling this process just isn't going to work, even with text mining just given the structure of the request and the data that we have...

I will keep you posted on which one of these functions I find more helpful!

PROC Star