BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
beginner
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, I'm new to SAS, and apologize if this question has been asked elsewhere.  I have been searching previous messages for this type of work and couldn't find what I wanted.  I have a dataset that contains multiple rows per patient.  I'd like to combine all the rows for each patient, and also create an additional column with a count of how many rows were combined. 

So, for example, I'm starting with a dataset that looks like this:

patient          fruit          color

patientA          apple          red

patientA          banana          red

patientA          mango          red

patientB          apple          blue

patientC          cherry          green

patientC          grape          green.

And I want to reorganize into a dataset that looks something like this:

patient          count          fruit_1          fruit_2          fruit_3          color

patientA          3          apple          banana          mango          red

patientB          1          apple          (blank)          (blank)          blue

patientC          2          cherry          grape          (blank)          green.

Thank you in advance for your help.  I have been struggling with this for days, trying combinations of different lines I've been piecing together from searches.

4 REPLIES 4
Steelers_In_DC
Barite | Level 11

Here you go:

data have;
input patient$ fruit$ color$;
cards;
patientA apple red
patientA banana red
patientA mango red
patientB apple blue
patientC cherry green
patientC grape green
;run;

proc sql;
create table count as
select *,count(patient) as count
from have
group by patient
order by patient,fruit;

proc transpose data=count out=want(drop=_NAME_) prefix=fruit_;by patient count color;var fruit;

Reeza
Super User

Please don't post the same question in multiple boards 😞

beginner
Calcite | Level 5