BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
EKeimig
Calcite | Level 5

I am very new to SAS.  I am trying to create a Case When Statement.

/* TOT_PREM */

Case When t1.TOT_PREM IS NULL Then 0 Else

(Sum(t1.TOT_PREM)) END AS Total Premium,

I am getting an error message ERROR22-322: Syntax error, expecting one of the following: !,!!,&,*,**,+,-,/,<,<=,<>,=,.,.,.=,?,AND,BETWEEN,

What am I doing wrong?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

When you get an error copy the entire procedure or data step code that generates the error from log including the error messages and paste into a code box opened using the forums {I} icon. This preserves the formatting of the error messages and the indicators that often show what SAS identified as the triggering error.

And example:

244  proc sql;
245     select case when sex='M' then 0
246            else 1 end as Total whatsit
                                   -------
ERROR 22-322: Syntax error, expecting one of the following: ',', AS.

247     from sashelp.class;
248  quit;
NOTE: The SAS System stopped processing this step because of errors.
NOTE: PROCEDURE SQL used (Total process time):
      real time           0.00 seconds
      cpu time            0.00 seconds

Notice that I am getting the same error: 22-322 with slightly different "expected" but the underscores show that "whatsit" is out of place.

In this case if I wanted a variable "Total Whatsit" which has a space in the middle then I have to use the construct "Total whatsit"n to indicate a name literal that violates typical variable name rules. OR perhaps I thought there was another variable whatsit I wanted to select but just forgot to place the required comma between variables or expressions in SQL.