Career question from a MBA grad

New Contributor

I am a MBA graduate, my undergrad is in international studies and economics.  I also had a master in Political Science.

During my internship, I got explosure to SQL and SAS. Took two classes in SAS. I could use SAS to generate some report, but not too complex.

I am preparing for SAS Basic Certificate now.

The more I get into SAS, the more I start to ask myself, whether I should get into this field.  Now I really appreciate if you all could help provide some feedback and suggestion.

I don't have very strong or hard core math or statistics background, neither do I have IT progromming background.

At most, I am a MBA with relatively strong analytical skills. Now I am wondering if I don't really want to get too deeply into statistics and math modeling, will there be a future for me to learn SAS, and what level is good enough for me? 

If I get a master in business and not statistics or math, what's the value of learning SAS for me? Or should I just stop here and not waste my time to devote too much to this very technical direction??

Thank you all very much for providing some thoughts on this.

New Contributor

No one really respond?? please.....

PROC Star

It is a difficult question to answer and you are competing with NFL football games on TV this afternoon.

When people do respond I think that you will get mixed answers.  I think that the critical question is what kind of job are you going to be looking for after you graduate and will it involve the analytical/data management capabilities of a program like SAS?

If the answer to that question is no, then I think that you have already answered the question yourself.  If the answer is yes, then the question (I think) becomes one of what level do you expect to be involved?  If you are heading toward becoming a programmer, then I think the certification route is a good one to follow.