Bin creation and overlay of a customized graph on a histogram

New Contributor

Bin creation and overlay of a customized graph on a histogram

Hello

This is my first post here, and from what I have read you guys are really helpful and I would appreciate some help with the issues I am facing. I am new to SAS and I have been using it for around 2 months.

Basically, I have a data set with a bunch of different variables, but what I am mostly interested is a percentage change  variable which can vary from say -20% to 20%. I created a histogram (with ods listing) which does that. However, the problem is that I have to plot a line which touches the top of each bar of the histogram from the median to the right(plots the height of the bin) and then I have to mirror that to the left of the median. The point is that to the left of the median I would observe lower values in general than to the right and plotting the line to the right and mirroring it on the left hand side will allow me to see how much mass is missing to the left compared to the right.

So basically, I have two questions. How can I create this line graph, which basically plots the top of each bin. I assume that I would have to create the binned data first, since I don't see how I can use my histogram code to plot this graph. So, how can I create these 1% interval bins from the data and then plot ? Can I create an if loop to do that? What would be your suggestion?

Also, how do I impose a customized graph on a histogram and not some pre-packaged density curve?

Another thing that I have to mention is that the actual data which I cannot work with has 360 million observations, so I need to make sure that everything is as efficient as possible.

I would greatly appreciate any help. Please let me know if it is not clear.

Super User

Re: Bin creation and overlay of a customized graph on a histogram