Best way to create a Freq table from open ended Survey Data?

Occasional Contributor

Best way to create a Freq table from open ended Survey Data?

Hello,

I am trying to make a simple frequency table based on a number of surveys I have collected. The problem I am facing is the fact that some of the questions are yes or no answers, and some questions have multiple values. I am importing these surveys from a Microsoft Access database. I am a beginner at SAS so I any input would be greatly appreciated. Currently I have many separate frequency tables based on different variables; however, I would like to have one simple table which reads the subject number on the y axis, then goes through the frequency of each answer. Thank you very much for your help!

Super Contributor

Re: Best way to create a Freq table from open ended Survey Data?

Posted in reply to tkallday33

You need to tell us more about how your data is structured.  If it can simply be reduced to 3 columns eg

Interviewee_Id     Question     Response

Then you can use Proc SQL, or Proc Freq with the /List option to restrict the output table to list format.

Proc Freq      Data = have ;

Table      Question * Response / List  Out = want;

Run ;

Richard

Super Contributor

Posted in reply to RichardinOz

On the other hand if your data has a separate column for each question then you need to transpose the data first  (prior Sort by id might be required) .  The following assumes all the responses are character.

Proc Sort data = FromAccess ;

By     Interviewee_Id ;

Run ;

Proc Transpose Data = FromAccess

Out = have (rename = (Col1 = Response

_Name_ = Question

))

;

By     Interviewee_Id ;

Var     _Character_ ;

Run ;

In the following Proc Freq you may need to add as line 2

Where Upcase (Question) NE "INTERVIEWEE_ID" ;

Richard

Occasional Contributor

Posted in reply to RichardinOz