BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Maisha_Huq
Quartz | Level 8

Hi all:

Could you share your best practices/process for debugging?  I'm fairly new to SAS and this would be helpful for me to hear.

Is there a way to ever print a result within a DATA step?  My understanding is, no; I'm just wondering how to best visualize with the pdv looks like after any given statement within a datastep

Thanks!

13 REPLIES 13
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

I'll choose to not comment on best practices for debugging, although I'm sure you'll get a lot of answers

Yes, of course you can print results within a DATA step. The PUT statement allows you to do this.

--
Paige Miller
art297
Opal | Level 21

Like Paige I, too, am not going to comment on best practices for debugging, but just expand on the suggestion that Paige offered.

Either a number of put _all_;

or

putlog _all_;

statements, carefully placed in your code, will let you see what is going on in the pdv.

Maisha_Huq
Quartz | Level 8

Hi Paige and Arthur,

Sincere thanks, still! In using the put statement within a data step, is there a way to subset the dataset if the dataset is too large and/or I want to use it many times?

Maisha_Huq
Quartz | Level 8

Thanks, KurtBremser

ballardw
Super User

Data set options OBS to limit explicit number or records, FirstObs to select specific record number to start processing and  Where to select records with specific content are starting points,

I also recommend not using code like:

Data mydata;

set mydata;

;;

until you are real sure you want to replace your start data set.

Reeza
Super User

The statement below will limit your processing. This allows you to test your code with a subset of your data.  How big is your data that you feel the need to subset? 

option obs=10000;

My comments regarding best practice for coding in general:

1. What works for you.

2. Just because there is no error in your code doesn't mean its correct Smiley Happy