BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
RobL
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all,

I am still fairly new to the SAS programming world and I was recently asked a question about the autoexec function. The individual wanted to know if it was possible to add something to the AutoExec so that a specific project would automatically launch during startup. I've not been able to find a solution at this point whether through autoexec or not. Is it possible to have SAS launch a certian project when it first launches?

10 REPLIES 10
collinelliot
Barite | Level 11

Are you using Enterprise Guide or Display Manager? With Display Manager, yes, you can modifiy the shortcut to run a specified .sas file upon lauching SAS. I'm not sure about EG.

collinelliot
Barite | Level 11

The fact that you say "project" suggests you're using EG, however.

RobL
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you for replying. I am using EG at the moment...

collinelliot
Barite | Level 11

Okay, sorry. I'll be curious to see what other responses you get, as I'd like to know how to do this myself. I currently just have a %include "....."; at the top of most of my code that serves this purpose.

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

You could create an autoexec for each specific project, then a separate shortcut to launch SAS with the desired autoexec. So, if you have "Project A" and "Project B" (creative names, huh?) then each would have it's own SAS shortcut.

--
Paige Miller
RobL
Calcite | Level 5

I will have to give this a try to see if that will be sufficient for the user. Thank you!!

SASKiwi
PROC Star

Please be aware that most EG setups connect to a remote SAS server. The remote servers have their own AUTOEXEC programs that are not EG-aware. However within EG Options you can setup code that will run when you connect to a SAS server. Strictly speaking this is not an AUTOEXEC, but may serve the same purpose:

screenshot18.jpg

RobL
Calcite | Level 5