Audit table

New Contributor

Audit table

Hi,

I am new to SAS DI. I want to understand How audit tables get populated with macro returned values?

Valued Guide

Re: Audit table

There are audit tables with SAS that are not suited for auditing. Logging is not the task done by the SAS-log.
Please be very clear in you questions words and your issues.      

---->-- ja karman --<-----
New Contributor

Hi Jaap,

Thank you for quick response.

We have a data set with variables Job name, start time, end time, return code and few more. As we run our SAS DI job, record for each run should populate to this data set with appropriate value. How to achieve this?

Regards,

Usha

Valued Guide

Ok Usha your question look to be on building a real own auditing approach. Your requirement seems to point that way.  The running of DI-jobs getting monitored.

There are a lot of ways  you could achieve this. And sorry as SAS institute did make a real mess of this topic.  Well let stat with that mess.

There is traditional ARM logging SAS(R) 9.4 Interface to Application Response Measurement (ARM): Reference This was introduced with SAS 9.

This could have lead into a joined operation to other suppliers as ARM is an open standard Application Response Measurement - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Than SAS went for his own approach with a logging framework SAS(R) 9.4 Interface to Application Response Measurement (ARM): Reference it is an isolated SAS only approach not really a fit with an enterprise approach having centralized approaches for that.  The did deliver a starterset framework for those as SAS Audit, Performance and Measurement APM tool (9.2 on request) . This one is depreceated with SAS 9.4 for the event manager. Just go tru those pages and you will find http://support.sas.com/resources/papers/proceedings14/SAS064-2014.pdf