Arrays

Accepted Solution Solved
Occasional Contributor
Accepted Solution

Arrays

Hi, I am a beginner to SAS. i am trying to use array & do loop can someone help me out if there is an error in the following code as every time i try to submit the sas gets stuck    

data model.Vacsick1;

set model.Vacsick (firstobs=1 obs=12);

array VS [12] VS1 - VS12;

Do i = 1 to 12;

if site = 'New York' then

i = i/7;

else i = i/8;

End;

run;

Thanks

Parwaiz

Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎03-23-2014 05:53 PM
Super User

Re: Arrays

Parwaiz wrote:

Hi, I am a beginner to SAS. i am trying to use array & do loop can someone help me out if there is an error in the following code as every time i try to submit the sas gets stuck   

data model.Vacsick1;

Do i = 1 to 12;

i = i/7;

else i = i/8;

End;

run;

Thanks

Parwaiz

An array in SAS is different than other languages.

By Default SAS process data row by row.

Arrays are simply references to multiple variables, so in this case VS1-VS12 will represent Jan2013-Dec2013 or something along those lines.

It's better to set the denominator once, because it doesn't change per row and then apply your division, which I have a feeling isn't what you want.

data model.Vacsick1;

if site='New York' then denom=7;

else denom=8;

Do i = 1 to 12;

vs(i)= vs(i)/denom;

End;

run;

View solution in original post

All Replies
PROC Star

You have to tell the forum more.  Providing an example of your data would help.

You declare an array, but then never refer to it.  Then, you set up a 12 iteration loop, but do the same thing 12 times.

Plus, you say SAS gets stuck, but you didn't tell the forum about the feedback (i.e., log) it may have provided.

Occasional Contributor

the screen gets stuck in submitting the code, so may be the code doesnt reach the log (not sure).  Below is the image of my raw data. where in i wanted to divide first 3 obs by 7(site New York) and rest by 8 and only for 2013

Image.png

Super User