BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
ogarduno
Obsidian | Level 7

I'm a student and having trouble with some homework. I have this data set and using arrays and looping, i have to create two new variables for 1.) the change in weight (in kilograms) and 2.) the change in blood pressure for subjects. I've already used an array to convert the given weight in pounds to kilograms(kg1). The data is given below.

SAS Output

Obs id drug sbp weight kg1 change_kg i 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
1Placebo162.953299.211135.697.1
1Placebo152.081278.111126.127.1
2Placebo173.683330.057149.686.1
2Placebo151.670303.275137.540.1
3Placebo163.512304.551138.118.1
3Placebo152.773290.471131.733.1
4Placebo169.091343.915155.971.1
4Placebo141.962323.345146.642.1
5Placebo169.663268.525121.780.1
5Placebo143.971230.738104.643.1

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ogarduno
Obsidian | Level 7

Thank you everyone for your responses. It brought to my attention that my data could not be read and solved by the way my data was being read. So I combined the lines 1 and 2 of each subject patient and from there creating an array was easy. As others have said, creating an array to solve the differences of weight and systolic blood pressure is not needed. Therefore, i created a new variable using the variables i created with the array. Here is the code i created to solve my answer:

filename array1 'C:\Users\oscar\Documents\Fall 2017\BS805\hw2\hw2_f2017_blood.txt';
proc format;
value drugf
0 = 'Placebo'
1 = 'Study Drug';
value compliancef
0 = 'Not Compliant'
1 = 'Compliant';

libname hw2_perm 'C:\Users\oscar\Documents\Fall 2017\BS805\hw2';

data hw2_perm.arrays;
infile array1;
input #1 id 1-2 drug 3 sbp1 4-10 weight1 11-17
#2 sbp2 4-10 weight2 11-17 @;

format drug drugf.;
array kg(2) weight1 weight2;
array wkg(2) wkg1 wkg2;
do a=1 to 2;
wkg(a) = kg(a)/2.205;
end;
drop a;
diff_wkg = wkg1 - wkg2;