BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
LB
Quartz | Level 8 LB
Quartz | Level 8

OK so I am fairly new to SAS EG-

SO my question is that I see what is 'My folder' on SAS EG- How can I save to that? 

I am looking to namely save passwords, etc etc so other users can't see them.

Thanks

Lawrence

3 REPLIES 3
jakarman
Barite | Level 11

Lawrence, Eguide does not do any processing. The processing is done by  SAS process SAS/Base foundation.

When that is connected you have the "home" (Unix) or "My folder" location of that process.

Only when that is not a group-account shared environment you can responsible save sensitive data including user/passwords there.
There are a lot of options and all have advantages and disadvantages.

The pre-req will be that OS security controls are according you business requirements. As analytics is a difficult technical challenge for OS-IT guy-s this often is failing. As SAs institute is not very helpful until now to solve those kind of issues there are failures although not often admitted or being aware of.     

What is the level of security isolation analyses monitoring events you are needing?

Are your running at a desktop level or running server-based?

---->-- ja karman --<-----
LB
Quartz | Level 8 LB
Quartz | Level 8

Thanks for chiming in Jaap.

I am running off a SAS server based in UNIX.

At the local level-all users have a personal drive that they can store whatever datasets, passwords, etc etc.

This makes it so that I can run a program for another user and there is a standard method so that the username/passwords can automatically be taken from that personal drive rather having to change them with let statements or prompts.

I am attempting to do the same on the UNIX server. I see the 'my folder' and I can tell that I am the  only one (and SA's)  with permissions to it-I just don't how to map to it.

Lawrence

jakarman
Barite | Level 11