A little advice on SAS Programmer Interviews.

New Contributor

A little advice on SAS Programmer Interviews.

I was not sure if this question belonged here, but i just had such a rough time in my second phone interview that i had to ask for some advice.  I recently got base sas certified last year(2012) and i am a recent undergraduate. I am trying to jump into the market but my problem is that even though i may know the material, due to my nervousness, i often mess up, i forget how to explain the answer appropriately and i just ramble on.  I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on how to overcome this issue i am having.  Thank you very much for your time, i really appreciate it.

Super User

Re: A little advice on SAS Programmer Interviews.

Posted in reply to Smileyxv3

As with anything else in life, practice.  Build up your skills a little at a time.  For example ...

Start with the questions you messed up.  Try saying your answer out loud with nobody else around.

Then make a list of a few such questions.  Have a friend ask you the questions in any order, and speak your answer to the friend.

Then make a list of new questions that you weren't yet asked.  Have a friend ask you those new questions ...

Good luck.

New Contributor

Posted in reply to Astounding

Thank you very much for your response, i really appreciate you taking the time to answer my question.

Respected Advisor

Posted in reply to Smileyxv3