BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Hercules
Fluorite | Level 6
Hello,

Sorry if the post is irrelevant to the forum but I really need some guidance.
I've written a SAS paper on Data Warehouse dynamic implementation which has reduced the time and implementation cost in my project also and I received an award for it. Hence it is tested and live.
I was thinking to write a paper on it describing the process and by sharing the source code so that anyone can use it in their projects.
I have posted it in sascommunity.org as an article before submitting it to get it published, as this is my first time that I'm formating a technical paper. I would be grateful if you can give your honest feedbacks about it and throw some light on my week parts.
Find the link below

http://www.sascommunity.org/wiki/%25UniCreate:_A_SAS_Macro_for_Enterprise_Data_Warehouse_Dynamic_Imp...
4 REPLIES 4
AbhiD
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi Anant, I read ur paper on dynamic creation of extraction query for sourcing data. as i understand the macro functionality will help in reading the tables from a source when necessary information is provided and all this is handled dynamically.

My Question

1 - Is it possible to filter out records when reading from the source

2 - Is it possible to handle joins in the macro itself.

Rgds,

Abhi

Hercules
Fluorite | Level 6

My apologies for the late reply. And Thanks for reading the paper.

1 - Is it possible to filter out records when reading from the source

Ans: Yes you can add one more column to the deriving table and name it as FLTR_COLMN at table level.

Then you can select the column along with table name in a macro variable and paste it in the proc sql; insert into claw.

2 - Is it possible to handle joins in the macro itself.

Ans: For hadling join you have to make a new table with columns: SRC_TAB, TGT_TAB, JOIN_TYP (in which you have to specify inner, left, right join) and CONDTN column. Storei it in a macro and call it. 

Patrick
Opal | Level 21

Hi Anant,