BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Ubai
Quartz | Level 8

Hi everyone,

I'm not experienced with macros and I have two questions about them. I have a macro that runs Proc PHReg in a certain setting, and I would like to optimize how it works, so:

Question 1:

Can I add a macro variable as text, which would then run as a WHERE statement in the proc phreg. Example:

%MyPHReg (datain, where, time, censor, var);

Proc PHReg data=&datain;
&where.;
model &time. * &censor.(1) = &var.;
run;
%MEnd;

/* and to use the macro*/

%MyPHReg (mydata, Where X = 1, Survival, Censor, Smoking);

I have tried this but it didn't work. I know that macro variables should be variables, but can I integrate text?

Question 2:

I'm running a similar functioning macro for several data sets (here as &datain.) and several influence variables (here as &var.). Can I identify a matrix of data sets and variables and request the macro to run all possible combinations. Example:

/* something faster and more practicable instead of running the following */ 

%MyPHReg (dataset1, Survival, Censor, Age);
%MyPHReg (dataset1, Survival, Censor, Smoking);
%MyPHReg (dataset1, Survival, Censor, Alcohol);

%MyPHReg (dataset2, Survival, Censor, Age);
%MyPHReg (dataset2, Survival, Censor, Smoking);
%MyPHReg (dataset2, Survival, Censor, Alcohol);

%MyPHReg (dataset3, Survival, Censor, Age);
%MyPHReg (dataset3, Survival, Censor, Smoking);
%MyPHReg (dataset3, Survival, Censor, Alcohol);

Thanks

Ubai

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

You can use variables in a data step coupled with call execute to call your macro.