BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
MC2017
Fluorite | Level 6

My background is Mechanical Engineering - In my Engineering degree, I took a course Engineering Data Analysis, where I learned about all the statistical Analysis: descriptive and inferential statistics(T, ANOVA, regression equations, logistic regressions).

I found it interesting to analyze data and come up with solutions to a business problem.

So recently, I  took training on SAS Base, Advanced and predictive modeling and the first step is I am taking SAS base exam certification after a week.  

I want to have a job as a SAS programmer at first and grow along with to move into data analyst career. How difficult is it to get a job as SAS programmer while having Mechanical Engineering background. If there is anyone who came from this background can share and give an opinion I would appreciate.

3 REPLIES 3
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

Having met a lot of SAS users, I can confirm that their backgrounds are as varied as the personalities themselves.  And your mechanical engineering analytical skills should transfer nicely to other fields where data is abundant and analytical rigor is required.

But as I work for SAS, my view might be optimistic and biased -- I'd like to hear what others say!

It's time to register for SAS Innovate! Join your SAS user peers in Las Vegas on April 16-19 2024.
thesasuser
Pyrite | Level 9

I am also from  Engineering stream . Had done substantial work on mathematical modeling and simulation for design both at Masters and Doctoral level and had a passion for programming (C/C++ and Linux / Linux Admin). I wrote my own code in C for statistical analysis (most of us did then ) and used GNUPLOT for visualization.