SAS Life Science Analytics Framework and the clinical data products from SAS

Copy versus Move (cut/paste) # 2 – How versioning is transferred when a versioned file is copied or moved

Reply
SAS Employee
Posts: 10

Copy versus Move (cut/paste) # 2 – How versioning is transferred when a versioned file is copied or moved

Users would like to know what happens with versioned objects when they are copied and moved in SDD 3.x.

  

The result is slightly different when you  

  • copy or move a versioned object itself 
  • copy or move a folder that contains the versioned object

Copying/moving versioned objects 

  • when you Copy/Paste a versioned object, the new object is not versioned
  • when you Cut/Paste objects, the new object is versioned. 

NOTE: because SDD  automatically withdraws the Delete permission for all Users and Groups when an object is first versioned, you will need to be granted Delete permission before you will be able to perform Cut/Paste operations on a versioned object

To illustrate what happens when versioned objects are copied and moved, we set up three folders: Source, Target (Copy), and Target (Move).

 

The Source folder contains a versioned file that has three versions. 

versioning_1.png

versioning_2.png

When this versioned file is copied from the Source folder and pasted into the Target (Copy) folder, the copied file is not versioned in its new location.

versioning_3.png

When the versioned file is cut from the Source folder and pasted into the Target (Move) folder, the file is versioned in its new location and contains all the versions that were in the original.

versioning_4.png
versioning_5.png

Copying/moving a folder that contains versioned objects 

  • when you Copy/Paste a folder containing a versioned object, the new object is also versioned, but contains only the latest version of the source file (it does not contain all the versions that exist in the source folder)
  • when you Cut/Paste a folder containing a versioned object, the new object is versioned.  NOTE: because SDD  automatically withdraws the Delete permission for all Users and Groups when an object is first versioned, you will need to be
    granted Delete permission before you will be able to perform Cut/Paste operations on a versioned object

To illustrate what happens when folders containing versioned objects are copied and moved, we added the Sub-Folder container to the Source folder and stored a versioned data set with three versions in it.

versioning_6.png

versioning_7.png


When Sub-Folder is copied from the Source folder and pasted into the Target (Copy) folder, the versioned file is versioned in its new location, but contains only the latest version of the original.
versioning_8.png
versioning_9.png

When Sub-Folder is cut from the Source folder and pasted into the Target (Move) folder, the versioned file is versioned in its new location and it contains all the versions of the original.
versioning_10.png
versioning_11.png

Ask a Question
Discussion stats
  • 0 replies
  • 285 views
  • 0 likes
  • 1 in conversation