BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
kjohnsonm
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Hello,

I have a need to loop through a set of text files and pattern match with RegEx and based on positive hits, I want a simple output of what files contain at least one match of my expression. I have tested my expression against a few RegEx websites and it seems to pass my quality tests. What I don't know how to do is use a “RegEx” search on a file in SAS. Can anyone give me some starter pointers? I am an experienced programmer but new this last spring to SAS. I am willing to read but to date am not sure what function to even be looking at, …or combination of functions. I guess I am a little lost on what "proc import" to use, the files may or may not be fixed, tab, stanza, bla, bla… I just want to read them a line at a time and check for a match once found can skip out of the file and mark it as match found.   TIA.  -Keith

9 REPLIES 9
ballardw
Super User

There are a number of SAS functions but loot at PRXMATCH.

You may also want to look at some reading tricks such as using _infil_ instead of trying to read into variables, possibly wildcard filenaming and the Filename option on the Infile statement.

Reeza
Super User
You may want to look at system commands that you can pass to OS via SAS instead, that may be more efficient. This would be via the X or SYSEXEC command.
Haikuo
Onyx | Level 15

Here is something may get you started (Windows version), tweak it to accommodate your environment.

filename x pipe 'dir \\yourfolder\*.txt /s /b'; /*This is pipe in all of the dir result into fileref:x*/

data want;

infile x truncover;

input fname $100.;/*this is to get the text file name*/

infile dummy filevar=fname end=last;

do while(not last);

input content $100.; /*this is to get the content of each text file*/

texfilename=fname;

/*here is where to do your RegEx match*/

output;

end;

run;

filename x clear;
kjohnsonm
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10