DATA Step, Macro, Functions and more

transpose

Reply
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 117

transpose

I have Table1 attached file in detail. I want using Proc Transpose function, have new table called Table2.

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Table1: Month,           ENROLLMENT,    MAJOR_MEDICAL,    PBM,    Pharmacy,   LB,      DENTAL

            _ 2018-01_       212,400              10,962                        2,890     12,344        483      1,868

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

I want this transpose become table 2 as :

---------------------------------------------------------------

Table2:  OHI_Plan,                       _2018-01_

            ENROLLMENT                 212,400 

            MAJOR_MEDICAL           10,962 

            PBM                                   2,890 

            Pharmacy                          12,344 

            LB                                      483

            DENTAL                            1,868

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SAS code:

Proc sort data = table1;

 By Month;

Run;

 

Proc Transpose data = table1 out=table2;

  name = OHI_PLan;

  ID Month;

run;

 

After the SAS ode run, got result table 2 only has column names, without data.

OHI_Plan , _201801_

 

 

Do not know why.

 

 

Super User
Posts: 22,818

Re: transpose

Post your code AND log. 

Does your log have errors?

 


JHE wrote:

I have Table1 attached file in detail. I want using Proc Transpose function, have new table called Table2.

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Table1: Month,           ENROLLMENT,    MAJOR_MEDICAL,    PBM,    Pharmacy,   LB,      DENTAL

            _ 2018-01_       212,400              10,962                        2,890     12,344        483      1,868

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

I want this transpose become table 2 as :

---------------------------------------------------------------

Table2:  OHI_Plan,                       _2018-01_

            ENROLLMENT                 212,400 

            MAJOR_MEDICAL           10,962 

            PBM                                   2,890 

            Pharmacy                          12,344 

            LB                                      483

            DENTAL                            1,868

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SAS code:

Proc sort data = table1;

 By Month;

Run;

 

Proc Transpose data = table1 out=table2;

  name = OHI_PLan;

  ID Month;

run;

 

After the SAS ode run, got result table 2 only has column names, without data.

OHI_Plan , _201801_

 

 

Do not know why.

 

 


 

Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 117

Re: transpose

Thank you for rely to me. There is no error.

 

Log file attached .

Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 117

Re: transpose

this is the log

Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 117

Re: transpose

disregards the previous log file.

Super User
Posts: 22,818

Re: transpose

1. This log doesn't match the code you posted in your first post

2. The log doesn't have errors but there are some notes that tell you what's wrong. 

3. I don't know which log/code you're using and what to say beyond this because its not clear what you're doing. 

Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 117

Re: transpose

transpose Table1 to tabl2 2 format.

 

log attached,  and table detail atatched

 

SAS code:

 

proc sort data=WORK.Table1 ;

by month;

run;

proc transpose data=WORK.Table1 out=WORK.Table2 name=OHI_Plan;

id month;

run;

 

run the SAS code, having result as Tbale2, only have two columns without data.

 

 

 

Super User
Posts: 22,818

Re: transpose

Note: No variables to transpose

 

Maybe you missed the note above.

Try adding your variables to the VAR statement.

 

 

 

 

 

Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 117

Re: transpose

Thank you, this is worked. Smiley Happy

 

proc transpose data=WORK.Table1 out=WORK.Table2 (drop= _name_) label=OHI_Plan ;

id month;

var enrollment major_medical pbm Pharmacy lb dental;

run;

PROC Star
Posts: 8,092

Re: transpose

Interesting! I'd have thought, from your example, that you wanted:

proc transpose data=WORK.Table1 out=WORK.Table2 ;
  var Month ENROLLMENT MAJOR_MEDICAL PBM Pharmacy LB DENTAL;
run;

Art, CEO, AnalystFinder.com

 

Ask a Question
Discussion stats
  • 9 replies
  • 351 views
  • 0 likes
  • 3 in conversation