BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ml31
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to SAS, i am trying to do something that would allow me to run this code , but with a different variable everytime. If put in different variables in the parenthesis then it sorts it and seperates out each of the variables, i want to have it sorted by variable and then by q2  and by q3.  How can i do this ?

proc sort;

by q2;

proc freq;

table (bmicat) *school;

by q2;

format q2 q2f.;

proc sort;

by q3;

proc freq;

table (bmicat)*school;

by q3;

format q3 q3f.;

proc freq;

table (bmicat)*school;

run;

7 REPLIES 7
paulkaefer
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10
Well, you can assign a macro variable like this:
%let variableName = whatever;
Later, you use it like so:
&variableName
or, if you want it in a character string:
"&variableName."
As your title suggests, you can use a loop:
%do i = 2 %to 3;
    proc sort;
        by q&i;
    proc freq;
        table (bmicat) *school;
        by q&i;
        format q&i q&i.f.;
%end;
proc freq;
    table (bmicat)*school;
run;
During the first iteration, i will be 2; during the second, it will be 3. SAS will replace &i with those values, respectively. The reason you might include a . after &i is because otherwise when you set the format, SAS thinks you want a macro variable called &if, but you have not defined it.
Reeza
Super User

Where are your DATA= statements/portion of the code?

Is this operating on the same dataset? What's the end goal/rationale for doing this? 

I wonder if there's a better way to get what you need, it doesn't make a lot of sense to me to re-run the same procedure by different order except possibly for printing and manual review. 

ml31
Calcite | Level 5

This is the same data set.

The data portion has a lot of if/then where i create dichotomous variables out of multi-answer survey questions.

What the sort does, is it sorts it by gender and by grade, so i do need each variable sorted this way.