BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
hi
I'm completely new to sas and to this community then feel free to remove my post if it isn't to his place.

I know how to rename the variables, but what about renaming the values from a table ? I mean, if we have :

V1 V2
o1 x11 x12
o2 x21 x22

where o1, o2 are the number of the observations and V1, V2 the variables.

Is it possible to rename xij ? How we can proceed ?

Thanks

Message was edited by: babaorumi Message was edited by: babaorumi
4 REPLIES 4
Patrick
Opal | Level 21
Hi babaorumi

You might think of a SAS dataset as if it were a Excel spreadsheet.
The variable names are the column names (and actually they are not that easy to rename) - an observation (record) is a line in the spreadsheet. A cell contains the value of a distinct variable ( a "column") at a specific point of iterating through the dataset.
That's what a datastep mainly does. It iterates through the "lines of the spreadsheet", from top to bottom, one line at a time between the "data" statement and the "run" statement.

So what you're asking for - changing the value of a variable (a cell value) - is the most basic thing you can do in SAS.

Let's assume the following:
you have:
data have;
/* write ten observations (records) to table have with one column (variable) "myvar" */
do myvar=1 to 10;
output; end;
run;

data recode;
set have;
if myvar=5 then myvar=999;
run;
proc print data=myvar;
run;

HTH
Patrick
deleted_user
Not applicable
Thank you for a so fast and complete reply.
Gonna try monday, because I unfortunately haven't SAS at home.
Baba
deleted_user
Not applicable
xij could be regard as the value of the variable, it is string type, so, to some extent, revise it is just as change the value of a variable , think about if xij is a numerical value, how would you revise it, the technique is much the same, but maybe you have to use some function and special operator , since you may have to combine the string.
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ