BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Putt_Ka
Calcite | Level 5

Greetings All! 

I'm new to the SAS forums (first post), I'm coming over from the SQLServerCentral world, and am having a hard time getting used to the syntax with SAS.  Here's my current dilemma:

I would like to create a variable "start_date" as the current date IF the current day of the month is equal to or greater than the 10th of the month; else I would like to set "start_date" to the first day of the current month. 

TOUGH ONE! 

Can I use a proc sql; case statement for something like this, or am I better off with if then else?  Please help, I've been beating my head against the wall all friday and now this morning.

-Ben

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

I think you're looking to create a macro variable, the equivalent of a SQL variable that can be used in a further SQL step?

Here's a data step solution.

Some things that you'll need to look up are how SAS handles dates (numbers with formats attached), the intnx function used to align dates and the put function used to convert numbers to characters.

*Generates a numeric value for date, can be used directly in queries assuming your data has SAS dates;

data _null_;

if day(today())>10 then call symputx('start_date', today());

else call symputx('start_date', intnx('month', today(), 0, 'b'));

run;

*Generates a character value for date;

data _null_;

if day(today())>10 then call symputx('start_date_f', put(today(), date9.));

else call symputx('start_date_f', put(intnx('month', today(), 0, 'b'), date9.));

run;

%put &start_date;

%put &start_date_f;

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
ballardw
Super User

Are your values SAS date values, if so relatively trivial. If they are strings they should probably be converted to SAS dates.