BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
rla21602
Calcite | Level 5

Hello, I am a student in a SAS programming class and I was given this problem to examine the difference between the 'WHERE' and 'IF' statements. I am only allowed to edit the datalines in hopes of accomplishing the following guidelines:

Replace​ ​the​ ​gaps​ ​marked​ ​by​ ​triangles​ ​∆1​ ​and ∆2​ ​with​ ​lines​ ​of​ ​data​ ​so​ ​that:

● the​ ​data​ ​sets​ ​DS1​ ​and​ ​DS2​ ​each​ ​have​ ​exactly​ ​four​ ​observations​ ​and​ ​no​ ​missing​ ​values;

● the​ ​data​ ​set​ ​DS_Where​ ​has​ ​exactly​ ​one​ ​observation​ ​for​ ​each​ ​value​ ​w​ ​=​ ​1,​ ​2,​ ​3,​ ​4,​ ​5,​ ​which appear​ ​in​ ​that​ ​order.

● Design​ ​your​ ​data​ ​sets​ ​so​ ​that​ ​the​ ​program’s​ ​output​ ​shows​ ​the​ ​following​ ​properties:

● the​ ​w​ ​=​ ​1​ ​observations​ ​are​ ​identical​ ​in​ ​DS_Where​ ​and​ ​DS_If,​ ​with​ ​no​ ​missing​ ​values;

● the​ ​w​ ​=​ ​2​ ​observations​ ​are​ ​identical​ ​in​ ​DS_Where​ ​and​ ​DS_If,​ ​with​ ​a​ ​missing​ ​value​ ​for​ ​y;

● the​ ​w​ ​=​ ​3​ ​observations​ ​are​ ​identical​ ​in​ ​DS_Where​ ​and​ ​DS_If,​ ​with​ ​a​ ​missing​ ​value​ ​for​ ​z;

● DS_Where​ ​has​ ​a​ ​w​ ​=​ ​4​ ​observation​ ​with​ ​at​ ​least​ ​one​ ​missing​ ​value,​ ​but​ ​the​ ​w​ ​=​ ​4 observation​ ​in​ ​DS_If​ ​has​ ​no​ ​missing​ ​values;

● DS_If​ ​has​ ​no​ ​observation​ ​with​ ​w​ ​=​ ​5. A​ ​copy​ ​of​ ​the​ ​program​ ​(​where_if.sas​)​ ​can​ ​be​ ​downloaded​ ​with​ ​this​ ​assignment​ ​on​ ​Canvas. You​ ​may​ ​not​ ​change​ ​any​ ​aspect​ ​of​ ​the​ ​program​ ​except​ ​for​ ​inserting​ ​data​ ​as​ ​specified​ ​above. Please​ ​turn​ ​in​ ​the​ ​printed​ ​output​ ​on​ ​a​ ​single​ ​page​ ​along​ ​with​ ​a​ ​snippet​ ​of​ ​your​ ​data.