BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
bjoern_krueger
Calcite | Level 5

Hello!

I'm quite new in SAS programming, and I have to export a SAS file to MS-Access accdb-File.

I use SAS Enterprise Guide 7.11 under Windows 8.1 Enterprise 64 bit.

In my old SAS-Version (Enterpise Guide 4.2) under Windows XP Professional, the export worked without problems with the following code:

proc export data=TestData
outtable="Test_Table"

dbms=ACCESS2002

replace;

database='C:\test\example.mdb'

run;

The result of this code is an access file "example.mdb" with a table "Test_Table" in it. The Access table contains the data from the SAS file "TestData".

Unfortunately in our new SAS-Version, this code does not work anymore.

I tried a lot of code, an asked google for hours, but I do not find the solution.

Could anybody give me a short code example, that shows, how it works? Maybe anybody can edit the above example, so that it works in Enterprise guide 7.11?

Thanks and best regards,

Bjoern 

13 REPLIES 13
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Hi!

Could you be a bit more specific about "does not work anymore"?

Does the step fail with a ERROR message, or is the result non-digestible for MS Access?

I have the suspicion that your switch to Windows 64 causes a bitness problem.

bjoern_krueger
Calcite | Level 5

Hi!

If I use the code, the following Error occures:

ERROR: "'c:\test\example.mdb'" is not a valid name.

It does not depend on which database-Path I use. The same Error occures, when I use a server path like this:

/www/sas/Data/1/Tchibo-Analytics/Tchibo_Analytics_Includes/Analytic/example.accdb

I tried also the old Access-suffix "mdb" but it's the same.

The path is definately valid, the export to excel to the same path works without any problems.

Thanks again and best regards,

Bjoern

Reeza
Super User

Is your EG connected to a server or running locally? Does it work if you export via the GUI?

Try changing your DBMS to Access or AccessCS