BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hi,

I'm just getting started at this, taking the basic certification e-course. I can't figure out one of the questions on the post-test for the segment on combining data. (see below) To me the answer has to be (b)$30,0000, but the quiz score claims it should be (a) missing. I already sent an email to saslearning@sas.com, and they insist the response is correct.Can someone please explain this to me?????

Here's the problem:
If you concatenate the data sets below in the order shown, what is the value of Sale in observation 2 of the new data set?
Sales.Reps
ID Name
1 Nay Rong
2 Kelly Windsor
3 Julio Meraz
4 Richard Krabill
Sales.Close
ID Sale
1 $28,000
2 $30,000
2 $40,000
3 $15,000
3 $20,000
3 $25,000
4 $35,000
Sales.Bonus
ID Bonus
1 $2,000
2 $4,000
3 $3,000
4 $2,500

a. missing
b. $30,000
c. $40,000
d. you cannot concatenate these data sets
Correct answer: a
Your answer: b

The concatenated data sets are read sequentially, in the order in which they are listed in the SET statement. The second observation in Sales.Reps does not contain a value for Sale, so a missing value appears for this variable. (Note that if you merge the data sets, the value of Sale for the second observation is $30,000.)
4 REPLIES 4
sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10 sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10
If you expect to get an accurate response, it's most important to share your SAS code up-front. And without that, it's conjecture at best, frankly.

Scott Barry
SBBWorks, Inc.
deleted_user
Not applicable
> If you expect to get an accurate response, it's most
> important to share your SAS code up-front. And
> without that, it's conjecture at best, frankly.
>
> Scott Barry
> SBBWorks, Inc.
Dear Scott,

I appreciate your advice, but did you actually read the question?