BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Tekkers
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all,

I'm new to SAS , and I'm really tired of this problem I keep running into, but I can't figure it out.

I need to categorize data all the time with new character variables based on numeric values of another variable, e.g.:

This works fine:

if dm_prev_adj < Q1_dm then dm_prev_lvl = 'Low';

The "issue" is that it is horribly inefficient.  I have to do this for each level, for each variable.. in this instance it is only nine lines of code (3 variables, 3 levels), but I have to believe that a do loop can do this easier. When I use a do loop and a numeric value it works fine for numbers:

do i = 1 to 3;

if adj(i) <= q1(i) then lvl(i)=1;

else if q1(i) < adj(i) < q3(i) then lvl(i)=2;

else lvl(i)=3;

end;

But if I change those numeric values to words, aka 'Low' 'Medium' 'High' it bombs out and says:

NOTE: Invalid numeric data, 'Low' , at line 1451 column 32.

NOTE: Invalid numeric data, 'High' , at line 1453 column 13.

NOTE: Invalid numeric data, 'Medium' , at line 1452 column 44

over and over and over...

This seems really easy but I cannot find the answer, would appreciate any help or alternatives.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

When you define your array, you need to define the elements as being character.  (They will be numeric by default.)  It's as easy as this:

array lvl {3} $ 6 lvl1-lvl3;

Good luck.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Astounding
PROC Star

When you define your array, you need to define the elements as being character.  (They will be numeric by default.)  It's as easy as this:

array lvl {3} $ 6 lvl1-lvl3;

Good luck.

Tekkers
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks Astounding and to all-- I really had hoped it was something simple, but had no idea it was that simple! 

Jagadishkatam
Amethyst | Level 16