BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jdmarino
Fluorite | Level 6

Preface:

I've been working with SAS for 20 years but slightly longer with sql and databases.  So when I need to join data, I use proc sql.  But SAS is a multi-headed beast (or maybe a multi-function tool like a Leatherman) and I think there is a data step/merge technique that can help me.  I'm reaching out before jumping right into the code because I'm afraid of being bitten in the backside by one of SAS's many heads.  (It's happened before so once bitten, twice shy.)

Here's the problem:  My data comes from a third party and is not well conditioned.

I have a dataset of orders that have an ID (a unique key) and some other fields that can identify a row (part number, order time, and quantity) but not uniquely.  I also have a dataset of order cancellations, but they do not refer back to the order ID being cancelled, instead the cancellation contains some of the non-unique fields (part number and quantity).  It is true, however, that an order can only be cancelled once and that a cancellation refers to only one order (i.e. cancellations get used up once they cancel their order).

You can see how sql (left) joining cancellations to orders on part number and qty won't work: the non-uniqueness will cause a multiplicity in the output.  But you can also see how one could match a cancel to its order, say, by matching it with the oldest order that has the same part number and quantity and marking both the order and cancellation as "matched" so they will not match again.  This requires a kind of loop that sql does not do, but that a crafty data step probably does well.  But I've avoided crafty data steps (mostly because I used to work with data designed to work in sql databases) until now and lack the craft.

Would anyone like to enlighten me?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom