BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Alain38
Quartz | Level 8

Hi,

I'm new to SAS and I would like to create a loop from 1 to 48. Column _1_i is projected onto
columns _2_i, _3_i and _4_i using Generalized Least Squares method. So there are 48 regressions to perform.
Coefficients (Estimate) and standard-errors (StdErr) are extracted in a dataset called "Coeff".
I wrote an example, without loop, with just the 2 first regressions:

proc glm data=Sample;
        model _1_1 = _2_1 _3_1 _4_1;
        ods output ParameterEstimates=Coeff;
        quit;

proc glm data=Sample;
        model _1_2 = _2_2 _3_2 _4_2;
        ods output ParameterEstimates=Coeff2;
        quit;

/* Add new obs to original data set */
        proc append base=Coeff data=Coeff2;
        run;

/* Delete the temp data set */
        proc delete data= Coeff2;
        run;

I tried to create a macro with "%do i=1 %to 48" and "model &_1_i. = &_2_i. &_3_i. &_4_i.;" but I don't manage to make it work, notably because of the temporary datasets supposed to be named Coeff2, ..., to Coeff48. I use them to add results in the existing dataset "Coeff", and then delete them (only way I found to add new results without overwriting).

Thank you in advance so much for your help,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

run it with N=2 or 3 and test.

In general if want to repeat a step that generates a data set and combine them you could use proc append.  You would want to do something like this in the macro.

.... out=coeff&i ....

proc append base=all_coeff data=coeff&i force ;
run;

Then before you call the macro you might add this to make sure that you don't have an old version of your base dataset lying around.

proc delete data=all_coeff;
run;

%mymacro(runs=48);