BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ADK
Calcite | Level 5 ADK
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone,

I'm new to SAS and if struggling with strings and combining them.  I need to do a sql insert but have charatcter data that needs to be used:

The code I am trying to use is:

%let CallTarg = CALL_TARG;

%let Prod1 = PROD1;

%let Prod2 = PROD2;

%let Prod3 = PROD3;

%let CallTY = CALL_TY;

%let SF = PCR;

%let Terr = TERR;

ilaps = 1 %to 12;

%let FullSF = %str(%'&SF&ilaps%');

proc sql noprint;
               select count(distinct &SF&ilaps&Terr) into :NumReps from don.Q215_ACT_ML_PANEL_FINAL_V5;

select sum(&SF&ilaps&CallTarg) into :P1Calls from don.Q215_ACT_ML_PANEL_FINAL_V5 where  &SF&ilaps&CallTY= 'A' and &SF&ilaps&Prod1 = 'LN';

select sum(&SF&ilaps&CallTarg) into :P1Calls from don.Q215_ACT_ML_PANEL_FINAL_V5 where  &SF&ilaps&CallTY= 'A' and &SF&ilaps&Prod2 = 'LN';

select sum(&SF&ilaps&CallTarg) into :P1Calls from don.Q215_ACT_ML_PANEL_FINAL_V5 where  &SF&ilaps&CallTY= 'A' and &SF&ilaps&Prod3 = 'LN';

insert into don.hold

values(&FullSF,&NumReps,&P1Calls,&P2Calls,&P3Calls);

The problem I am having is inserting the FullSF into my output.  It should be PCR1 through PCR12 so my insert statement should like this:

insert into don.hold

values('PCR1',10,100,50,25);

but I cannot figure out how to get the quotes arorund the PCR1.  The first line inside of the loop is building it correctly according to the log, but my insert statement is not reaading it correctly.

Any help on this specific issue as well as the coding in general (since I am new) would be greatly appreceiated.

Thanks

8 REPLIES 8
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Hi,

Yes, I think you are maybe going about that the wrong way.  Rather than trying to work with the code as presented, could you provide some test data ( in the form of a datastep) and example output thereof.  You shouldn't really need the loop and the macro values at all, but it would be easier to explain with an example.

ADK