BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
KevinViel
Pyrite | Level 9

How might I submit a batch job in SAS if the CMD (command prompt) has been disabled?  I had written the program to use an X statement.

The administrators have disabled CMD and before I request an exemption, I want to be sure that we do not have other routes.  I have no experience with Java, but might the data set Java object be a possible route?

Thank you,

Kevin

6 REPLIES 6
KevinViel
Pyrite | Level 9

Doh!

%sysexec works:

%sysexec mkdir "H:\SAS\test" ;

Sorry,

Kevin

Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Glad you got it to work, but note that the same option that would disable the X statement disables the %sysexec statement. There is not much difference between them.

It should also disable the PIPE engine.

KevinViel
Pyrite | Level 9

Indeed, both of the following worked:

5389 x 'mkdir "H:\SAS\test1"' ;
5390 %put SYsrc=&SYSRC. ;
SYsrc=1
5392 %sysexec mkdir "H:\SAS\test2" ;
5394 %put SYsrc=&SYSRC. ;
SYsrc=1

The following, outside of the program that produced it as a CALL EXECUTE with an X statement, pops up a SAS session:

x "D:\Applications\SASHome\SASFoundation\9.4\sas.exe" -CONFIG
"D:\Applications\SASHome\SASFoundation\9.4\nls\en\sasv9.cfg" -NOSPLASH -NOSTATUSWIN -SASUSER !userprofile -SYSIN
"H:\SAS\D1\sas\one.sas" -ALTLOG "H:\SAS\D1\sas\one.log" -PRINT
"H:\SAS\D1\sas\one.lst" ;

On other systems/installs, this ran the program in batch mode.  I am not sure what happened in my original testing, but when I have an issue, then I pop open CMD and run the code from the command line.  X commands work, even though I cannot use CMD.  I am not sure why the session is opening.

Thank you,

Kevin

Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

You might want to check the XWAIT and XSYNC options. 

Also the location of where SAS is actually installed can vary.

SASKiwi
PROC Star