BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
john83
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Guys,

I am new to SAS. I am not able to find any difference between Missover and Truncover.

I have used following example to figure out the difference, but could not found any difference.

DATA test;

INFILE datalines missover;

input lname $ fname $ job $ jobn $;

DATALINES;

LANGKAMM            SARAH     E0045 Mechanic

TORRES                JAN            E0029 Pilot

SMITH               MICHAEL   E0065

LEISTNER            COLIN     E0116 Mechanic

TOMAS               HARALD

WADE                KIRSTEN   E0126 Pilot

WAUGH               TIM       E0204 Pilot

;

run;

May be, I have selected wrong example to find the difference. Please help me out to find the difference between the two.

Thanks in advance,

John

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
art297
Opal | Level 21

Although it is subtle, the difference is there:

Use notepad to save the following lines as a text file labeled emplist.txt:

LANGKAMM SARAH E0045 Mechanic
TORRES JAN E0029 Pilot
SMITH MICHAEL E0065
LEISTNER COLIN E0116 Mechanic
TOMAS HARALD
WADE KIRSTEN E0126 Pilot
WAUGH TIM E0204 Pilot

then run the following:

DATA test1;
  INFILE "/folders/myfolders/emplist.txt" missover;
  INPUT lastn $1-21 Firstn $ 22-31
   Empid $32-36 Jobcode $37-45;
RUN;

DATA test2;
  INFILE "/folders/myfolders/emplist.txt" truncover;
RUN;

You can find an explanation in the paper at:

http://www2.sas.com/proceedings/sugi26/p009-26.pdf

HTH,

Art

Editor's Note: See also this topic in SAS documentation about MISSOVER, TRUNCOVER, STOPOVER and FLOWOVER.

And this explanation from @Tom

The difference is what it does when there are not enough characters for the input that you requested.
An easy test is to read in a text file using this input statement.    
input line $80. ;