BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Mina-sh
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I'm pretty new to SAS and have a file to understand the whole procedure. I was trying to run the code to analyze the results but it starts with this:

RUNMODEL:

METHOD  PRFILE  $ 20  RAFILE  $ 20  RRFILE  $ 20  FAFILE  $ 20

FPFILE  $ 20  DEFILE  $ 20  REFILE  $ 20  CAFILE  $ 20

ALFILE  $ 20  COMMENT $ 60  PCTRATE    6

NUMWHSES  MAXRUN 4;

Also in some places is referred to these inputs like this:

SET &FAFILE

does anybody know what does this command do and why I cannot run that?

Thank you in advance,

Mina

8 REPLIES 8
ballardw
Super User

You may need to show more code as you showing parts of code. Some bits are common to more than one procedure but often have their own dependencies. You should have a Log that shows the code you submitted and would have error or possibly warning messages at to why something does not work. You can copy and paste the relavent log results into the entry box opened from the menu {i} above.

The Set statment usually is used in a data step and refers to one or more data sets to incorporate into the current step for processing. The &FAFILE refers to a macro variable that should contain the name of one or more existing data sets and possibly data set options.

If the macro varaible is blank you would get a message such as this:

188  data _null_;
189     set &fafile;
            -
WARNING: Apparent symbolic reference FAFILE not resolved.
ERROR: File USER.FAFILE.DATA does not exist.
ERROR 22-322: Syntax error, expecting one of the following: a name, a quoted string, ;, END,
              INDSNAME, KEY, KEYS, NOBS, OPEN, POINT, _DATA_, _LAST_, _NULL_.

ERROR 200-322: The symbol is not recognized and will be ignored.

190  run;

If the FAFILE references a libbrary you may get a message about the library name is not assigned. If the data set referenced doesn't exist you would get a file does not exist error.