BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jwhite
Quartz | Level 8

Good Morning, All.

I'm a new SAS developer and seem to be hitting a snag with a macro.

I'm getting the warnings:

WARNING: Apparent symbolic reference LASTDEPTKEY not resolved.

WARNING: Apparent symbolic reference LASTTODEPTKEY not resolved.

and error:

ERROR: A character operand was found in the %EVAL function or %IF condition where a numeric operand is required. The condition was: &lastDeptKey=&lastToDeptKey or &validToDate="01JAN5999"

Here's the macro:

%let i=1;
    %let admUnit=%scan(&admUnits,1);
    %let fice=%scan(&ficeCodes,1);

%do %while ( &admUnit > 0 );
        %let x = 1;
        %let admUnitQry = &admUnit;
        %do %until ( (&x = 0) or (&x = 50) ) ;
            /*-- Loop through rows in crossing table for the
                    adm_unit and move to adm units until
                    the valid to date is '01JAN5999'd
                    (last adm unit in the group - most current department) --*/
            proc sql noprint;
                select b.department_key, b.to_department_key,
                       b.valid_to_date, c.administrative_unit_no
                        into :lastDeptKey, :lastToDeptKey, :validToDate, :lastAdmUnit
                    from target.department_dim a, target.dept_key_x_to_dept_key_xing b,
                         target.department_dim c
                    where a.administrative_unit_no=&admUnitQry
                      and a.fice_code=&fice
                      and a.department_key=b.department_key
                      and c.department_key=b.to_department_key;
            quit;

%if &lastDeptKey=&lastToDeptKey or &validToDate="01JAN5999" %then  
                %let x = 0;
            %else %do;  
                %let x = %eval(&x + 1);
                %let admUnitQry = &lastAdmUnit;
            %end;