BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Michael_W
Calcite | Level 5
I am brand new to the whole SQL pass through experience, so please excuse me if I sound inexperienced on the topic.

I am trying to use SQL pass through to replicate a query that was create in MS Access. The query has approx 10 tables joined together; 9 of which are MS-SQL tables and one of which is a SAS table. I am able to create OLEDB connection to one of the SQL tables, read it, and create a SAS table from it. In addition, I believe I have successfully created a temp table in MS-SQL from my SAS table. However, for the life of me, I can't figure out how to join a permanent MS-SQL table to the temp SQL table that just created. In fact, I can't even read the temp table that I believe I have created.

This code appears to work:

libname x oledb init_string="Provider=SQLOLEDB.1; Integrated Security=SSPI ;Initial Catalog=PIMS;Data Source=DSS-SQLPRD04\PSQL01" connection=global;

data x.'#temp1'n;
set WORK.Prov_Benefit_Plan_Mapping;
run;

This code works as well:

option DQUOTE=ANSI;
option sastrace=',,,d' sastraceloc=saslog nostsuffix;

proc sql;

connect to oledb (init_string=" Provider=SQLOLEDB.1;Integrated Security=SSPI ;Initial Catalog=PIMS;Data Source=DSS-SQLPRD04\PSQL01" schema=dbo connection=global);

Create Table work.Test as select * from connection to oledb

(SELECT * FROM Prog);

quit;

However, I can't figure how to join the two:

option DQUOTE=ANSI;
option sastrace=',,,d' sastraceloc=saslog nostsuffix;

proc sql;

connect to oledb (init_string=" Provider=SQLOLEDB.1;Integrated Security=SSPI ;Initial Catalog=PIMS;Data Source=DSS-SQLPRD04\PSQL01" schema=dbo connection=global);

Create Table work.Test as select * from connection to oledb

(SELECT * FROM Prog
INNER JOIN temp1 ON Prog.PROGDESC = Temp1.Prov_BenefitPlan);

quit;
2 REPLIES 2
barheat
Fluorite | Level 6