BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
djbateman
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

I'm completely new to FTP.  I'm trying my best to figure this out on my own, but I'm having no luck.

I have created a SAS dataset that I want to export into a pipe-delimited ("|") csv file and upload that file to an FTP site.  I came across a code snippet that apparently shows how to do just that, but I can't seem to figure it out.  Here is the snippet:

%macro export_to_ftp(dsn=, outfile_name=);
	FILENAME MyFTP ftp "&outfile_name." 
		HOST="&host."
		USER="&usuer."
		PASS="&passwrd.";

PROC EXPORT DATA=&dsn. OUTFILE=MyFTP DBMS=%SCAN(&outfile_name.,2,.) REPLACE;
		delimiter='|';
	RUN;
	filename MyFTP clear;
%mend;

%export_to_ftp(dsn=sashelp.class, outfile_name=CLASS.csv);

Every time I run this, I get the message:  "ERROR: Open failed for file MYFTP."  That is immediately followed by another error that the connection has timed out.

Can someone explain the components of the FILENAME statement to me?  I wonder if I'm missing something.  I know there is a CD= option, but I wasn't sure if that was the directory for where the file should be saved on the FTP site.  I have played around with it, but I still get the same errors.

In addition to uploading a file, is it possible to create a folder on an FTP site with SAS code?  Similar to the DCREATE() function?

9 REPLIES 9
ballardw
Super User

Did you have a version of this code run that was not in a macro? That is the first step.

Did you run the code with option MPRINT so you can see what the macro is generating?

And just a suspicion, you have User="&usuer.".  Could that macro variable be misspelled?

And since you did not pass several of the macro variables as parameters you could be running into a scope issue.

djbateman
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

It's not a macro issue.  The variables not passed through (like host, password, or user) were just place holders to mask my information.  I did run run it outside of the macro, and it didn't help any.

ballardw