BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
sing29
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to SAS programming.

While attempting to load the data from CSV file I am unbale to load column values with dollar values

MakeModelTypeOriginDriveTrainMSRPInvoice
AcuraMDXSUVAsiaAll$36,945$33,337

I am using the below code :

data work.new;
infile  '/home/singhthesantosh0/San_fo/cars.csv' dlm=',' firstobs=2;
input Make :$ Model :$ Type :$ Origin :$ DriveTrain    :$
    MSRP dollar9.2 Invoice dollar12.2;
run;
proc print data=work.new;
run;

I am getting below results:

Obs Make Model Type Origin DriveTrain MSRP Invoice 1 2

AcuraMDXSUVAsiaAll..
AcuraRSX TypeSedanAsiaFront..

Could appreciate very much for the step I am missing to read the data

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi, The COMMA informat will strip out all punctuation, including dollar signs.

You have already used the colon format modifier with your other variables (where you do not need it for the character variables). So you only need to use the : with your numeric variables:

input Make $ Model $ Type $ Origin $ DriveTrain $ MSRP : comma. Invoice : comma.;

It is better to leave off the decimal places in an informat because the informat will detect whether there is already a decimal place when it is reading the data files. If you leave the .2 in the informat, that is telling the INPUT statement to insert a decimal place if it doesn't find one, which does not seem what you want to do given your data.

Also you showed your INPUT data in a tabular form, but I would assume that the currency amounts are quoted, since they contain commas?

"Acura","MDX","SUV","Asia","All","$36,945","$33,337"

cynthia

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi, The COMMA informat will strip out all punctuation, including dollar signs.